Quality Improvement Awards Badges

The Quality Improvement Awards (QIA) recognize the highest performing health centers nationwide as well as those health centers that have made significant quality improvement gains from the previous year. This chart displays the potential badges and certificates health centers may receive for fiscal year (FY) 20 QIA.

National Quality Leaders (NQL)

Ranked in the top 1-2% of all health centers in one or more of the clinical quality measures (CQMs) that promote behavioral health, diabetes health, and heart health. NQL recipients will also receive a certificate.

NQL Behavioral Health, Diabetes Health, and Heart Health NQL Behavioral Health and Heart Health NQL Diabetes Health and Heart Health NQL Behavioral Health and Diabetes Health NQL Behavioral Health NQL Diabetes Health NQL Heart Health

Health Center Quality Leader (HCQL)

Achieved the best overall clinical performance among all health centers and were recognized in the following tiers: Gold (top 10%), Silver (top 11-20%), or Bronze (top 21-30%) for CQMs. HCQL recipients will also receive a certificate.

HCQL Gold HWCL Silver HCWL Bronze

Value Enhancer

Health centers that improved cost efficient care delivery as compared with the national average, while also increasing quality of care and improving patient access to services.

HRSA Health Center Program Value Enhancer 2020 Awardee Badge

Health Disparities Reducer

Health centers that met or exceeded the Healthy People 2020 goals, or made at least a 10% improvement across different racial/ethnic groups.

HRSA Health Center Program Health Disparities Reducer 2020 Awardee Badge

Access Enhancer

Health centers that increased number of patients served and number of patients with access to comprehensive services.

HRSA Health Center Program Access Enhancer 2020 Awardee Badge

Advancing Health Information Technology (HIT) for Quality

Health centers that optimized HIT services, for advancing telehealth, patient engagement, interoperability, and collection of social determinants of health, to increase access to care and advance quality of care,

HRSA Health Center Program Advancing HIT for Quality 2020 Awardee Badge

Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Recognition

Health centers with PCMH in one or more delivery sites. This badge is updated quarterly.

PCMH Badge


Date Last Reviewed:  August 2020