HRSA Accreditation and Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition Initiative

The HRSA Accreditation and Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition Initiative supports health centers working towards better care and lower costs for patients. HRSA supports health centers seeking to achieve:

  • Ambulatory health care accreditation and/or
  • Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) recognition.

Ambulatory health care accreditation assesses health center quality and patient safety. Accreditation organizations evaluate health centers against standards of quality improvement, quality assurance, risk management, and performance improvement.

PCMH recognition assesses a health center’s approach to patient-centered care. Health centers can achieve PCMH recognition by meeting national standards for primary care that emphasize care coordination and on-going quality improvement.


HRSA contracts with three organizations to provide technical assistance and training for their respective recognition processes. These organization are:

HRSA may support certain fees for participating health centers. The fees covered may be associated with initial accreditation and re-accreditation for ambulatory health care accreditation and PCMH recognition, initial, renewal, and add-on surveys.

More Clinical Quality Improvement

Behavioral Health Integration


Accreditation & PCMH Contacts

Please submit your Accreditation and/or Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH) requests to the health center APCMH team. To make sure you receive our reply email, add '' to your address book.

Accreditation Association of Ambulatory Health Care exit disclaimer icon
Mona Sweeney 
(847) 324-7487

The Joint Commission exit disclaimer icon
Delia Constanzo 
(630) 792-5011

NCQA Government Recognition Initiative Program exit disclaimer icon
(888) 275-7585