Clinical Quality Improvement

Health Center Program Quality Improvement initiatives align with the National Quality Strategy Exit Disclaimer and support the efforts of health centers toward:

  • Better care for patients
  • Healthy communities
  • Lower health care costs

These initiatives assist health centers in the development and implementation of ongoing quality improvement through an array of policies and programs, funding, training and technical assistance, data and information sharing, and partnerships and collaborations.

National Quality Recognition

The HRSA Accreditation and Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition Initiative supports recognition for health centers that meet national quality standards. HRSA contracts with these accreditation and recognition organizations to support, evaluate, and recognize participating health centers for meeting standards for ambulatory health care accreditation, Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) recognition, or both:

  • The Joint Commission (TJC): Ambulatory health care accreditation and PCMH recognition
  • The Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC): Ambulatory health care accreditation and PCMH recognition
  • The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA): PCMH recognition

Expansion and Integration of Health Services

Date Last Reviewed:  May 2019

Related Resources

Diabetes Quality Improvement Initiative: HRSA provides health centers with information about the initiative, promising practices, and resources to improve the quality of their diabetes programs.

National Cooperative Agreements, Primary Care Associations and Primary Care Offices: These partners provide training and technical assistance to health centers.

Health Center Quality Improvement Awards: HRSA rewarded the quality improvement activities of health centers through the FY 2018 Health Center Quality Improvement Awards.

Risk Management and Quality Improvement: HRSA provides risk management and quality improvement resources to support free clinics and health centers participating in the Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) Program.