1. Home
  2. Funding
  3. Continuation Funding
  4. Capital Development Grants
  5. Environmental and Historic Preservation Technical Assistance

Environmental and Historic Preservation Technical Assistance

The following are resources to assist in meeting the Environmental and Historic Preservation compliance requirements with HRSA funding opportunities and the Health Center Loan Guarantee Program.

National Environmental Policy Act

The National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) requires every federal agency to follow a specific planning process to ensure that agency decision-makers and applicants have considered and the general public is fully informed about, with the opportunity to comment on, the environmental consequences of a federally funded action. This review and consultation process is used to evaluate the impact a project and its alternatives may have on the environment. The review process required by NEPA is usually the vehicle through which HRSA addresses other environmental laws and regulations.

It should be noted that compliance with other individual laws such as Floodplain Management, Wetlands, the National Historic Preservation Act, Endangered Species Act, the Comprehensive Environmental Response and Liability Act, among other federal, state and locally required laws, may still be required.

National Historic Preservation Act

The National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) requires federal agencies to take into account the effects of their undertakings on historic properties. Federal agencies must consult with parties who have an interest in the effects of the undertaking in order to identify the affected historic properties, assess the effect of the undertaking on historic properties, and seek ways to avoid, minimize, or treat any adverse effects on historic properties.

HRSA complies with NHPA and its implementing regulations in 36 CFR Part 800, by following standard regulatory procedures, commonly referred to as the Section 106 Process. Historic properties include districts, buildings, structures, objects, landscapes, archaeological sites, and traditional cultural properties that are included in, or eligible for inclusion in, the National Register of Historic Places. These properties are not just old buildings or well-known historic sites, but places important in local, state, or national history. The National Register of Historic Places is a list of recognized historic properties. However, this list is not complete, and states may have additional properties with historic significance.

Environmental and Historic Preservation compliance

Historic preservation

HRSA NHPA Section 106 delegation

Environmental compliance


Contact us  

If you have a question about: You can reach us at:
Program BPHC Contact Form

  • Under Funding, select Supplemental Grant Award (e.g. COVID/ARP, PCHP, Capital)
  • Select Capital (CADRE, CARE, NAP, Other -Capital) supplemental grant award

Call 800-518-4726 (international callers, call 606-545-5035).


Date Last Reviewed: