1. Home
  2. Focus Areas
  3. Health Center Performance and Impact
  4. Community Health Quality Recognition (CHQR) Overview
  5. Community Health Quality Recognition (CHQR) Frequently Asked Questions

Community Health Quality Recognition (CHQR) Frequently Asked Questions

What are the CHQR badges?

CHQR badges recognize Health Center Program awardees and look-alikes (LALs) that have made notable quality improvement achievements in the areas of access, quality, health equity, and health information technology for the most recent UDS reporting period. 

How can I find out which health centers earned CHQR badges?

The CHQR Dashboard provides an easy way to view CHQR badges health centers have achieved, as well as CHQR performance comparisons with other health centers and states. Dashboard users can also generate a list of health centers by CHQR badge type, and view state- and national-level summaries. 

You can also view CHQR badge awardees information on the Health Center Program UDS Data webpages on The CHQR Dashboard and Health Center Program UDS Data webpages are updated annually.

Is funding being awarded with CHQR badges?

The CHQR badges are not associated with supplemental funding. After more than five years of Quality Improvement Awards (QIA), BPHC is now shifting from funding health centers for past performance to recognizing quality, performance, and accelerating future quality improvement and innovation activities through novel funding opportunities and initiatives.

HRSA has shifted the QIA investments to the Quality Improvement Fund (QIF) to support proactive innovative care efforts. The purpose of QIF is to activate and accelerate innovative advancements in care delivery to improve health outcomes, reduce health disparities, and advance health equity for underserved populations. HRSA’s most recent QIF funding opportunity is for Maternal Health.  

What types of organizations are eligible for CHQR badges?

To be eligible for any CHQR badges, health centers must:

  • Submit complete and accurate annual UDS data on time
  • Use electronic health records (EHRs) to report on clinical quality measures and entire patient populations
  • Resolve any progressive action conditions as of June of the CHQR badge award year
  • Be an active Health Center Program awardee or look-alike
What are the criteria for the CHQR badge categories?

See the CHQR Overview webpage for eligibility information.

Will CHQR badges and criteria stay the same?

HRSA intends to award the same set of CHQR badges in Calendar Year (CY) 2023 based on data from the 2022 UDS reporting period. The only change is the addition of the new NQL – Cancer Screening badge. For more detailed information on CHQR badge criteria, view the CHQR Overview site.

Where can I access my CHQR badge certificate?

Health centers that have earned NQL and HCQL badges will receive certificates in the mail. Health centers that have earned CHQR badges can request high-resolution badge images via the BPHC Contact Form. Select Uniform Data Systems (UDS), Community Health Quality Recognition Badges (CHQR) Badges, Requesting a badge image or certificate.

Where can I find more information on the clinical performance of health centers?

Go to the Health Center Program UDS Data page to access national, state, and health-center level clinical data for health center awardees and look-alikes.

Who can I contact with questions about my health center’s eligibility for CHQR badges?

Submit questions about CHQR eligibility criteria via BPHC Contact Form. Select Uniform Data Systems (UDS), Community Health Quality Recognition Badges (CHQR) Badges, Verify CHQR eligibility or criteria. 

Date Last Reviewed: