Quality Improvement Awards Frequently Asked Questions

  1. What are the Health Center Quality Improvement Awards?

    Quality Improvement Awards (QIA) are one-time grant supplements to recognize health center accomplishments in expanding access to care, improving care quality and outcomes, reducing health disparities, enhancing health information technology for quality improvement, and achieving pPatient -cCentered mMedical hHome recognition. These awards recognize the highest performing health centers nationwide as well as those health centers that have made significant quality improvement gains from the previous year.  Funds will be used by recipients to expand current quality improvement systems and infrastructure and to improve primary health care service delivery.

  2. How much funding will HRSA award under this funding opportunity?

    For fiscal year (FY) 2020, HRSA is awarding over $117 million in one-time, supplemental QIA to 1,318 health centers in six categories:

    • Improving Quality of Care Awards: $40.3 million (931 health centers recognized)
    • Access Enhancer Awards: $5 million (341 health centers recognized)
    • Value Enhancer Awards: $1.2 million (38 health centers recognized)
    • Health Disparities Reducer Awards: $7.8 million (303 health centers recognized)
    • Advancing Health Information Technology (HIT) for Quality Awards: $10.5 million (1,246 health centers recognized)
    • Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition: $52.6 million (1,071 health centers recognized)

    Health centers could be recognized in more than one area.

  3. What types of organizations were eligible for the QIA?

    Organizations eligible for the QIA are existing Health Center Program award recipients that:

    • Reported information to the 2019 UDS using electronic health records (EHR) to report on all clinical quality measures and all patients;
    • Are an active health center; and
    • Have resolved any progressive action conditions.
  4. How will health centers use these funds?

    Health centers that receive QIA will use these supplemental funds to continue to strengthen quality improvement activities, including achieving new and/or maintaining existing patient centered medical home recognition.

    Health centers must use these funds for allowable costs and have discretion to determine what activities will best support the quality improvement activities of the health center. Such activities can include, but are not limited to:

    • Developing and improving health center systems and infrastructure, including training staff; developing policies and procedures; enhancing health information and telehealth technology, certified electronic health record, and data systems; data analysis; and/or implementing targeted quality improvement activities (including hiring consultants).
    • Developing and improving care delivery systems, supporting care coordination, case management, and medication management; developing and implementing contracts and formal agreements with other providers; laboratory reporting and tracking; training and workflow redesign to support team-based care and/or virtual care; clinical integration of behavioral health, oral health, HIV care, and other services; and/or patient engagement activities.

    QIA funding must be used for costs that are not otherwise supported by other Health Center Program operational grant (H80) funding.

  5. Where can I find the list of organizations that received QIA?

    View the list of FY 2020 QIA recipients.

  6. Where can I find more information on the clinical performance of health centers?

    The Health Center Data webpage displays each Health Center Program award recipient’s profile, which includes demographics, services provided, clinical indicators, utilization rates, costs, revenues, and a health center’s adjusted quartile ranking on clinical quality measures compared to health centers nationally.

  7. What is the difference between the PCMH badge on a health center page and PCMH Recognition for QIA?

    All health centers attaining or maintaining PCMH-recognition receive the PCMH badge, which is updated quarterly. Only those who meet QIA criteria for PCMH get QIA funds.

  8. What were the criteria for the QIA categories?

    The main QIA webpage lists eligibility criteria for each QIA category.

Date Last Reviewed:  August 2020