Community Health Quality Recognition (CHQR) Frequently Asked Questions

What are the CHQR badges?

The CHQR badges recognize Health Center Program awardees and look-alikes (LALs) that have made notable quality improvement achievements in the areas of access, quality, health equity, and health information technology for the most recent UDS reporting period. In addition, COVID-19 badges were introduced to recognize health centers’ contributions to the public health emergency response in the areas of data collection, testing, and vaccinations.

What CHQR badges were awarded for the 2020 UDS reporting period?

Health Center Program awardees and LALs were recognized with the following CHQR badges:

  • Health Center Quality Leaders: 387
  • National Quality Leaders: 17
  • Access Enhancer Badge: 132
  • Health Disparities Reducer Badge: 98
  • Advancing Health Information Technology (HIT) for Quality Badge: 883
  • Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition: ;1,057
  • COVID-19
    • COVID-19 Data Reporter Badge: 413
    • COVID-19 Testing Badge: 306
    • COVID-19 Vaccinations Badge: 170

Health centers can be recognized in more than one area. Note that LALs were not eligible for Health Center Quality Leader badges, which are based on Health Center Adjusted Quartile Rankings (AQRs).

Is funding being awarded with CHQR badges?

The CHQR badges are not associated with supplemental funding. After more than five years of Quality Improvement Awards, BPHC is now shifting from funding health centers for past performance to recognizing quality, performance and accelerating future quality improvement and innovation activities through novel funding opportunities and initiatives.

Our new Quality Improvement Fund (QIF), for example, will leverage grants, prize challenges, and pay-for-performance opportunities with the aim to test, innovate, and collect insights and lessons learned. The first QIF opportunity is focused on Optimizing Virtual Care. The outcomes from these QIF opportunities will help inform development of quality improvement initiatives on a variety of topical areas across the Health Center Program.

Stay tuned for information about new opportunities through the Quality Improvement Fund.

What types of organizations were eligible for CHQR badges?

Active Health Center Program awardees and LALs were eligible for CHQR badges. Additional eligibility requirements included:

  1. Reported information to the 2020 UDS using electronic health records (EHR) to report on all clinical quality measures and all patients;
  2. Resolved any progressive action conditions.

How can I find out which health centers received CHQR badges?

To see if your health center received a CHQR badge:

  1. Go to the Health Center Program Uniform Data System (UDS) Data Overview page.
  2. Select “Health Center Program Type” (choose awardee or look-alike) and the state/territory using the filter tools.
  3. Using your browser’s scroll button, scroll down to view the list of health centers in the selected state/territory.
  4. Click “View Data” to see data for a specific health center. If a health center has earned CHQR badges, the badge images will be visible at the top of the health center’s data page.

Where can I access my CHQR badge certificate?

Health centers that earned National Quality Leader and Health Center Quality Leader badges will received certificates via email in September.

Health centers that earned CHQR badges can request high-resolution badge images from the Health Center Program Support.

Where can I find more information on the clinical performance of health centers?

Go to the Health Center Program UDS Data page to access national, state, and health-center level clinical data for health center awardees and look-alikes.

What were the criteria for the CHQR categories?

See the CHQR webpage for eligibility criteria by CHQR category.


Date Last Reviewed:  September 2021